Blog
Wrong answers on the application: when a claim is paid and when it is not
Four hypothetical households show how materiality, timing and who made the error decide whether a claim after a wrong application answer is paid or denied.
A wrong answer on a life insurance application does not automatically cost the family the death benefit. Whether a claim is paid, reduced or denied turns on a handful of questions: Was the answer false? Was it material, meaning would it have changed the insurer's decision or price? Did the death come inside the contestability period, usually the first two years? Who was responsible for the error? And what do the policy and your state's law say? The four scenarios below, all hypothetical, apply those questions to common situations.
The households and numbers are invented to show reasoning. They are not predictions, and no real outcome should be inferred from them. The rules vary by state and by contract, and a dispute over a specific claim belongs with a lawyer or the state insurance department.
The framework: six questions that decide the outcome
Before the scenarios, here is the checklist an insurer, and later a court or regulator, tends to work through. The guide to what happens if you lie on a life insurance application covers each in more detail.
- Is there a misstatement? A false answer, or an omission of something the question asked about. An answer to a question that was never asked is not a misstatement.
- Is it material? Would the true facts have changed whether the insurer issued the policy, the price, the risk class or the terms? A trivial difference generally is not material.
- Is the policy still contestable? The incontestability clause generally bars an insurer from contesting after the policy has been in force during the insured's lifetime for a stated period, usually two years. See the two-year contestability period.
- What did the insured know and intend? Some states require proof of intent to deceive; others consider only whether the statement was false and material. Standards differ.
- Who made the error? The insured, or an agent who filled out the form? Some states treat what the agent knew as what the insurer knew.
- What remedy does the policy and law allow? Options include paying in full, paying a reduced amount where the contract provides for it, or rescinding: voiding the policy, returning the premiums and denying the claim.
Keep these six in mind. Each scenario answers them in turn.
Scenario 1: the old diagnosis nobody mentioned
The facts. Hector, 44, applies for a $400,000 20-year term policy through an online platform. The application asks whether a doctor has ever diagnosed or treated him for high blood pressure. Hector was prescribed a medication for mild hypertension three years earlier, stopped it after losing weight and has had normal readings since. Remembering it as "something I outgrew," he answers no. The policy is issued as applied for. Ten months later, Hector dies in a car accident. His wife, Carla, is the beneficiary.
What the insurer does. Because the death falls inside the contestable window, the insurer requests medical and prescription records and finds the old prescription and the diagnosis code.
How the questions come out.
- Misstatement? Yes. The question asked, and the answer was no.
- Material? This is the crux. The underwriter asks what the insurer would have done with the true answer. If its guidelines for a 44-year-old with a resolved, controlled mild hypertension diagnosis would have produced the same risk class and price, the omission is probably not material. If the guidelines would have placed him in a different class, the difference matters.
- Contestable? Yes, at ten months.
- Intent? Hector's belief that the problem had passed is evidence of an honest error, not deception, although the insurer is not required to accept that.
- Who erred? Hector.
Likely result. If the underwriter concludes the same offer would have been made, the claim is paid in full. If the guidelines would have charged more, the outcome depends on the contract and the state: some insurers pay a reduced benefit, some rescind, and some states limit the insurer's choices when the error was innocent. The guide on honest mistakes versus material misrepresentation on an application discusses the difference.
The same facts, different timing. If Hector had died at month 30, the policy would generally be incontestable and the claim paid, even though the same wrong answer appears on the file. Timing is the single largest variable.
What Carla can do. Send what the insurer asks for, sign the authorization after reading it, and ask in writing what issue the insurer is reviewing. If the finding is that the diagnosis was immaterial, a doctor's note describing the resolved condition can help.
Scenario 2: the smoking answer
The facts. Lena, 36, applies for a $500,000 20-year term policy with a no-exam process. She answers that she has not used tobacco or nicotine in the last 12 months. She smokes a few cigarettes a week socially. The policy is issued at the nonsmoker rate, an illustrative $40 a month. A smoker rate for the same coverage, in this illustration, would have been $100 a month. Fifteen months later Lena dies of an illness. Her husband, Devon, is the beneficiary.
What the insurer does. The review includes medical records. A doctor's note from a visit eight months before the application says "smokes occasionally."
How the questions come out.
- Misstatement? Yes, on its face.
- Material? Tobacco use is one of the most common rating factors, and the difference in price is the evidence: the insurer would have charged $100 rather than $40. See tobacco rate class and life insurance for smokers for how classes work.
- Contestable? Yes, at 15 months.
- Intent? Lena's reasoning that occasional smoking "does not count" may be an honest misunderstanding, but the application's definition of tobacco use probably covers it.
- Who erred? Lena, although a doctor's note shows the information existed in records the insurer could obtain.
Possible results, with arithmetic. Three outcomes are possible, depending on the policy language and state law.
- Rescission. The insurer voids the policy, returns the premiums paid, and denies the claim. Premiums paid: 15 months × $40 = $600. Devon receives $600 instead of $500,000.
- Adjustment. Some contracts or state rules allow the insurer to pay the benefit the premium would have bought at the correct rate. The premium paid was $40; the correct premium would have been $100. The ratio is 40 ÷ 100 = 0.40. Reduced benefit: 0.40 × $500,000 = $200,000. This is illustrative; whether an adjustment like this is available is a question of the contract and state law, and many contracts include such an adjustment only for age or sex misstatements.
- Payment in full. If the insurer cannot show the answer was material or that it relied on it, or if a state's standard is not met, the claim is paid.
The lesson. Answers on tobacco are among the most scrutinized, because the price difference is easy to show. Define "use" the way the application does, and if you are unsure, ask the agent or the insurer before answering. the questions on a life insurance application lists the usual definitions.
Scenario 3: the hobby that was never mentioned
The facts. Marcus, 29, applies for a $750,000 20-year term policy. The application asks whether he participates in skydiving, scuba diving below a stated depth, motor racing or similar activities. Marcus skydives about once a month and answers no, thinking of it as a weekend pastime and not a risk. The policy is issued. Eight months later he dies in a skydiving accident. His sister is the beneficiary.
What the insurer does. This claim engages two separate ideas, and they should not be confused.
- The application. The insurer reviews the answer. Underwriters commonly rate or exclude frequent skydiving, so the true answer would likely have changed the offer. See scuba, skydiving, climbing and life insurance.
- The policy's exclusions. Some policies exclude deaths from certain hazardous activities, and some riders have narrower accident definitions. Whether the policy has such an exclusion is a matter of the contract.
How the questions come out.
- Misstatement and materiality? Likely both, because the activity directly relates to the cause of death and affects the price or terms.
- Contestable? Yes, at eight months.
- Intent? Marcus's thinking of skydiving as harmless is an explanation, not a defense, because the question named it.
- Who erred? Marcus.
Likely result. This is a claim that many insurers would contest vigorously, and rescission is a realistic outcome. If the application's answer is accurate and the policy has no exclusion, the claim would be paid. If Marcus had disclosed skydiving, the insurer might have issued the policy with a rating, a flat extra premium or an exclusion for aviation or skydiving deaths; in that case the claim would turn on those terms.
A variation. Suppose Marcus had died of an unrelated illness. The misstatement would still exist, but in some states the law asks whether the misstatement contributed to the death or increased the risk of loss, which can change the result. Other states do not require that connection. This is one reason a lawyer in the policy's state should evaluate any rescission.
Scenario 4: the agent who typed the answers
The facts. Priya, 52, meets an agent in her kitchen. She tells him she takes a daily thyroid medication and sees a counselor for anxiety. He is typing on a tablet and says he will "put that in the right section." She signs the electronic signature page without scrolling through it. The application as submitted lists neither item. The policy, $300,000 of whole life, is issued at a standard rate. Twenty months later Priya dies of a heart attack. Her son is the beneficiary.
What the insurer does. The review finds the prescription and counseling in the records. Its first reading is that the application omits them.
How the questions come out.
- Misstatement? The application is wrong. The question is whose wrong.
- Material? The underwriter evaluates whether treated thyroid disease and counseling would have changed the offer. For many insurers, a stable condition and low-intensity counseling do not change the class, but the guidelines decide.
- Contestable? Yes, at 20 months. Had she lived four more months, the policy would likely have become incontestable.
- Who erred? This is the unusual feature. Priya gave the correct information orally. In some states, what an agent knew, in the course of taking an application, is treated as known to the insurer, so the insurer may be unable to rely on the omission. In other states the signed application controls, and a signer is held to its contents. The entire contract clause makes the application part of the policy, which supports the second view.
Likely result. The son's position is stronger if he can show what Priya told the agent. Evidence helps: a follow-up email from the agent, a confirmation message, notes of the conversation, or the agent's own statement. Without it, the case rests on his word about what a deceased person said, which is harder.
What to do. Gather the policy, the application and the agent's contact information. Ask the insurer in writing for the application as submitted and any recorded call or e-signature log. A lawyer experienced in life insurance disputes can advise on how the state treats agent knowledge. The agent is a licensed producer, and a complaint about how the application was completed can go to the state insurance department as well.
The lesson. Read the application before signing, especially when someone else has filled it out, and ask for corrections in writing.
The four scenarios side by side
| Scenario | Error | Contestable? | Material? | Who erred | Realistic outcomes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Old hypertension | Omitted diagnosis | Yes, month 10 | Depends on guidelines | Insured | Paid, reduced or rescinded, depending on the class the insurer would have used |
| 2. Smoking | Wrong tobacco answer | Yes, month 15 | Likely, shown by price gap | Insured | Rescission ($600 refunded), adjustment ($200,000 in the illustration) or full payment |
| 3. Hobby | Unreported skydiving | Yes, month 8 | Likely | Insured | Rescission is realistic; exclusion language may also matter |
| 4. Agent typed | Items omitted from the form | Yes, month 20 | Depends | Agent, in part | Depends on state treatment of agent knowledge and the evidence |
What this means if you are applying now
- Answer completely. If a question could cover something, disclose it and let the underwriter decide. A disclosed condition that is rated is a better outcome than a hidden one that voids a policy.
- Use the insurer's definitions. Words like tobacco, treatment and hazardous activity have specific meanings on the form.
- Read the final application before signing and check what the agent typed. Keep a copy.
- Fix errors in writing as soon as you notice them, particularly in the free-look window.
- Tell your beneficiaries where the policy and application are kept; see the two-year contestability period for what they may face.
What this means if you are the beneficiary
- Do not assume a request for records means a denial. Many reviews end in payment; the stages are laid out in inside a claim investigation during the contestability period.
- Ask what issue is being reviewed, and ask for the application and claim file if a denial arrives.
- Save evidence of what the insured told an agent or the insurer.
- Calendar every deadline in a denial letter, and speak with a lawyer if the amount is large.
Key takeaways
- Wrong application answers matter most when the death falls inside the contestability period and the error is material.
- Timing can decide everything: the same wrong answer on the file may lead to rescission at month 10 and payment at month 30.
- Materiality is a judgment about whether the true facts would have changed the offer or price, and price gaps such as tobacco rates make it easy to show.
- When an agent fills in the form, evidence of what the insured said can matter, and rules differ by state.
- Apply completely, read before you sign, and keep records so your beneficiaries can respond if a claim is reviewed.